Introduction
A Shelly account contains one or more homes. Each home could represent a separate physical site, dwelling, or premises, for example, a holiday house or office, where your devices physically exist. Shelly devices, automations, scenes, schedules, and home-level subscriptions are configured at the level of a specific home.
You can use the Home tab to manage several homes under one Shelly account. You can also share full or controlled access to a specific home with your family or other Shelly Smart Control users.
Adding homes
-
Go to the Settings menu > Home tab.
-
In the Home tab, go to the Homes section.
-
Tap the +Add home button.
-
Follow the wizard to enter the required home information:
-
Home name - enter a clear and unique name to ensure that you can easily identify the home in your Shelly account
-
Home picture - upload a new or select from the default pictures to personalize your home preview
-
Review the summary of your changes.
-
Tap the Add home button.
Switching between homes
When you log in to your Shelly account, you are prompted to select a home. The home picture appears at the top of the display to indicate the home you are currently in.
To switch to another home in your Shelly account:
-
Tap the home picture located on the top-right or top-left corner of the screen (depending on the layout version of your application).
-
In the context menu, tap the arrow
to expand the list of your homes.
-
Select a home. The home picture updates to reflect the home you switched to.
Transferring devices to another home
IMPORTANT: When you transfer a device, you might lose statistical data, automations, and scenes related to this device.
-
Go to the My home menu > All devices tab.
or
Go to the My home menu > All rooms tab and tap a specific room. -
Tap the three-dots
icon located in the toolbar above your devices list.
-
In the context menu, tap the Transfer devices button.
-
Select the empty checkbox next to the device that you want to transfer. You can transfer more than one device at the same time.
-
Tap the Transfer button.
-
Select the To another home in this account option.
-
Select the home to which you want to transfer the device.
-
Tap the Move button.
Where to find your transferred device
Switch to the home that received the device, then go to the My home menu > All devices tab. You can find your device in the list and add it to a preferred room in your Shelly account.
Transferring homes to another account
IMPORTANT: Transferring your only remaining home also deletes your Shelly account.
-
Go to the Settings menu > Home tab.
-
In the Home tab, go to the Homes section.
-
Find the home that you want to transfer.
-
Tap the transfer
button.
-
In the new screen, select the Shelly account to which you want to transfer the home.
-
Tap the Next button.
Result: The application transfers your home, along with all devices in it and their generated statistics, to the selected Shelly account.
Deleting homes
IMPORTANT:
-
Deleting your only remaining home also deletes your Shelly account.
-
Deleting a home detaches and deletes its devices.
-
If you have any paid subscriptions to the home that you delete, they will also be ended.
-
Go to the Settings menu > Home tab.
-
In the Home tab, go to the Homes section.
-
Find the home that you want to delete.
-
Tap the delete
button next to the home that you want to delete.
-
Review the confirmation message.
-
Hold the delete button for 5 seconds to delete the home.
Home settings
You can review and edit a home by using the different types of settings in the Settings > Home tab.
Home info
In the Home info section, you can view the name, ID, and current subscription plan of the home. The following actions are available:
-
Editing the home name and home picture
-
Upgrading the current plan of the home
My homes
In the My homes section, you can view and manage your own homes and the homes that have been shared with you.
Share home access
In the Share home access section, you can invite people to share access to your home.
Sharing home access
-
Go to the Settings menu > Home tab.
-
Go to the Share home access section.
-
Tap the Invite to home button.
-
In the new screen, specify the name and email address of the user to whom you grant access permissions for your home.
-
Specify the access permissions per action. For example, if you select Full access in the Allow to run scenes option, you enable the user to run scenes in the shared home.
-
Tap the Invite to home button. The user will receive an email with an invitation to your home.
Change application background
In the Change application background section, you can customize the background theme of the application in the context of your home. Upload your own picture or select a picture from the Gallery backgrounds section.
Location
In the Location section, you can manage the location settings of your home.
Timezone
IMPORTANT: If the time of the device is not synced with the current time, schedules and actions might not work as expected.
The application automatically detects your timezone and location. To set them manually, select a timezone from the dropdown list.
If automatic detection fails, tap the Autodetect location button to try again.
Privacy and security
In the Privacy and security section, you can secure the settings of your devices.
Lock PIN
The application requires PIN authentication before modifying device settings. When you configure a lock PIN, you must activate it in the settings panel of the specific device.
Additionally, you can enable biometric authentication when a PIN is required.
Customizations
In the Customizations section, you can modify the appearance of your application in the context of your home.
Manage pictures
Use the section to add or remove pictures in your application menus.
Access and permissions
In the Access and permissions section, you can control who can access your home and the devices in it.
Grant installer access
Granted installer access enables installers to work on your home. You can revoke access at any time.
Cloud key
The authorization cloud key enables control over the devices in your home via Shelly Cloud Control API.
Personalization
In the Personalization section, you can adapt the appearance and behavior of menus in the context of your home.
Menu items order
Use this section to reorder the menu items in the main navigation bar. For example, drag the Settings menu to a second position in your main navigation bar.
Note: The first item that you set will be the page that you land on when you open the application.
Statistics
Use this section to control how energy consumption statistics are displayed. The following settings are available:
-
Energy consumption comparison - enables the comparison of energy consumption for the previous period. If you enable the option, a yellow line appears in the Chart tab of the device to show the energy consumption for the exact same previous statistics period (if any).
Note: If your device supports only real time measurements, and does not consume energy at the moment, it will not show any energy consumption data.
-
Default statistics period - specifies the default period that initially loads in all energy consumption charts, for example, the History chart in the Energy menu.